About me

Since my school days I have loved nature, photography and travelling: From the microcosm to the boundaries of the universe. My 1st state thesis was on the subject of microphotography. I taught science for 40 years, founded the Bad Driburg school observatory and still work there today. The photo shows me with my self-made Dobson telescope (mirror diameter 34 cm ). With telescopes for solar observation, a satellite receiving system and antennas for radio astronomy, I was able to motivate many pupils to take part in the "Jugend forscht" competition during my professional career. My planetarium shows with professional digital projection technology are used in large areas of the German-speaking world in classroom lectures and online. Curious about the world, I love to travel and am always on the road to experience foreign countries and to be present at astronomical events, which can be seen in my range of topics at Calaios. Polar light photography in the Arctic countries is my special hobbyhorse.

Website
I also run the event for private groups and for schools.
Please complete the form and enquire at the Calaios office.

The next events by Horst Thiel

  • Magic of the Moon
    Thu, 21.07.
    19:00 - 20:30
    Its exploration and influence on earthly life
    read more...
  • When the light went on in space
    Wed, 31.08.
    19:00 - 20:30
    When the light went on in space
    read more...
  • Wonderful October Sky 2022
    Fri, 30.09.
    19:00
    Mars, Jupiter, Saturn and a partial solar eclipse
    read more...

Reviews for Horst Thiel

Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 7 reviews)

Solo lecture on the South of France

Rated 5 out of 5
26 April 2022

Even though I was the only listener, I followed the presentation with great excitement and received interesting suggestions for possible trips. Thank you Mr Thiel.

Karin Sme

Interesting Easter walk in the starry sky

Rated 5 out of 5
7 April 2022

All the walks in the starry sky with Horst Thiel are super exciting, instructive and easy to understand even for children. The tips on observing the sky with simple binoculars or spotting scopes are very helpful.

Petra

Understandable even for laypersons

Rated 5 out of 5
7 April 2022

Mr Thiel knows how to arouse great interest in astronomy, even if you are a layman in this field. The practical tips for one's own sky observation are valuable (e.g. that a good pair of binoculars is better for the average consumer than a telescope; or the reference to apps for the mobile phone). Highly recommended!

Dr Gerhard Baumann

A wonderful trip to La Réunion

Rated 5 out of 5
7 March 2022

Mr Thiel takes the audience on a journey into another world with the help of a large number of recordings and interesting "travelling companions".

Katharina

Very multifaceted and entertaining

Rated 5 out of 5
7 March 2022

Mr Thiel's narration is very multi-faceted, humorous and entertaining.
Due to his profound and far-reaching experiences, many interesting historical anecdotes emerge during the lectures. Our children (12 and 8 years old) look forward to a travel report from Mr. Thiel every time.

Barrenscheen family

Rate Guide

How nice that you were here. Before you go,
why not subscribe to the Calaios newsletter?

Every Friday at noon we inform you about the latest news and
Events on Calaios. So you get to see everything.

Über mich

Seit meiner Schulzeit liebe ich die Natur, das Fotografieren und das Reisen: Vom Mikrokosmos bis an die Grenzen des Universums. Meine 1. Staatsarbeit hatte als Thema die Mikrofotografie. 40 Jahre lang unterrichtete ich Naturwissenschaften, gründete die Schul-Sternwarte Bad Driburg und arbeite dort noch heute. Das Foto zeigt mich mit meinem selbst gebauten Dobson-Teleskop (Spiegeldurchmesser 34 cm ). Mit Fernrohren für die Sonnenbeobachtung, einer Satellitenempfangsanlage und Antennen für die Radioastronomie konnte ich viele Schülerinnen und Schüler während meiner Berufstätigkeit zur Teilnahme am Wettbewerb “Jugend forscht“ motivieren. Meine Planetariumsshows mit professioneller digitaler Projektionstechnik kommen in weiten Bereichen des deutschsprachigen Raums in Präsenzvorträgen und online zum Einsatz. Neugierig auf die Welt, reise ich sehr gern und bin immer wieder unterwegs, um fremde Länder zu erleben und bei astronomischen Ereignissen dabei zu sein, was an meinem Themenspektrum bei Calaios zu sehen ist. Die Polarlichtfotografie in den arktischen Ländern ist mein besonderes Steckenpferd.

Webseite
Ich führe die Veranstaltung auch für Privatgruppen und für Schulen durch.
Fülle bitte das Formular aus und frage beim Calaios-Büro an.

Die nächsten Veranstaltungen von Horst Thiel

  • Glanzlichter des Sommerhimmels 2022
    Mi, 6.07.
    18:00 - 19:30
    Planetariumsreise zu Mars, Jupiter, Saturn und zu einem Schwarzen Loch
    mehr lesen...
  • Kurztrip nach Porto
    Di, 19.07.
    19:00
    Kurztrip nach Porto
    mehr lesen...
  • Magie des Mondes
    Do, 21.07.
    19:00 - 20:30
    Seine Erforschung und sein Einfluss auf das irdische Leben
    mehr lesen...

Bewertungen für Horst Thiel

Bewertet 5 von 5
5 von 5 Sternen (basierend auf 7 Bewertungen)

Solovortrag über Südfrankreich

Bewertet 5 von 5
26. April 2022

Auch wenn ich die einzige Zuhörerin war habe ich dem Bildvortrag mit großer Spannung verfolgt und interessante Anregungen für mögliche Reisen erhalten. Danke Herr Thiel.

Karin Sme

Interessanter Osterspaziergang am Sternenhimmel

Bewertet 5 von 5
7. April 2022

Alle Spaziergänge am Sternenhimmel mit Horst Thiel sind super spannend, lehrreich und auch für Kinder gut verständlich. Die Tipps bezüglich Beobachtung des Himmels mit einem einfachen Fernglas oder auch Spektiv sehr hilfreich.

Petra

Auch für Laien verständlich

Bewertet 5 von 5
7. April 2022

Herr Thiel versteht es, großes Interesse an der Sternenkunde zu wecken, auch wenn man ein Laie auf diesem Gebiet ist. Wertvoll die praktischen Tips für die eigene Himmelsbeobachtung (z.B. dass ein gutes Fernglas für den Otto Normalverbraucher besser ist, als ein Fernrohr; oder der Hinweis auf Apps für das Handy). Sehr empfehlenswert!

Dr. Gerhard Baumann

Eine wunderschöne Reise nach La Réunion

Bewertet 5 von 5
7. März 2022

Herr Thiel entführt die Zuhörer anhand einer Vielzahl von Aufnahmen und interessanter „Reisebegleitung“ in eine andere Welt.

Katharina

Sehr facettenreich und kurzweilig

Bewertet 5 von 5
7. März 2022

Herr Thiel erzählt sehr facettenreich, humorvoll und kurzweilig.
Aufgrund seiner tiefgreifenden und weitreichenden Erfahrungen entstehen in den Vorträgen viele interessanten geschichtlichen Anekdoten. Unsere Kinder (12 und 8 Jahre) freuen sich jedes Mal auf ein Reisebericht von Herrn Thiel.

Familie Barrenscheen

Guide bewerten

Wie schön, dass du hier warst. Bevor du gehst,
melde dich doch beim Calaios Newsletter an.

Jeden Freitagmittag informieren wir Dich über Neuigkeiten und
Veranstaltungen auf Calaios. So bekommst Du alles mit.